## Past A.O.C.S. Presidents







Felix Paquin Galveston, Texas 1910 President



Thomas C. Law Atlanta, Ga. 1916 President



E. R. Barrow Memphia, Tenn. 1912 President

Above are shown four past presidents and charter members of the American Oil Chemists' Society who attended the New Orleans spring meeting. Mr. Paquin was the first president of the Society and last month suggested an annual dinner of past presidents as a feature of the spring conventions. Other living charter members are G. G. Fox, E. A. McDonald, W. H. Marquess, R. W. Perry, E. Scherubel, and R. C. Warren.

PRESIDENT LAMAR KISHLAR described the work of the charter members thus: "In 1909 when that little group of nine pre-founders assembled to discuss the formation of this Society, I wonder if they visualized the proportions to which the group would grow. I wonder if they realized, when they first discussed its aims and purposes, the influence on science and commerce of the organization they were establishing. I wonder if any one of them could imagine the untold billions of dollars in trade whose contracts would carry the stipulation, 'Methods used to be those of the American Oil Chemists' Society.'

"In 1910 when those 20 men assembled to set up the first permanent organization, I wonder if they foresaw Official Referee Chemists to help iron out the little disputes within the industry and a Referee Board to select those gentlemen. Did they know the extent to which collaborative samples would aid in standardizing the work of hundreds of laboratories? Who foresaw an official journal which would be sought by college, government, and public libraries at home and abroad? How could one know the extent to which Society members would aid scores of federal agencies in solving the knotty problems caused by a global war?

"On this 35th anniversary of the founding of our society, let us pay tribute to that little group of far-sighted pioneers who made the American Oil Chemists' Society possible."

(Deceased charter members are H. B. Battle, R. B. Hulme, Edwin Lehman Johnson, W. J. Kallaher, Landon C. Moore, J. B. Pratt, David Schwartz, F. N. Smalley, P. S. Tilson, and David Wesson.)

## NEWS

(Continued from page 7)

free distribution to research directors and plant supervisors by Foster D. Snell, Inc., 305 Washington Street, Brooklyn 1, New York.

Frank Moody Biffen, for 15 years a member of the Snell staff, was recently elected to fellowship in the Institute of Chemistry of Great Britain and Ireland.

Percy C. Magnus, president of Magnus, Mabee, and Reynard, Inc., New York City, has been named general chairman of the Disabled American Veterans National Service Fund, which has headquarters in the Chrysler building. For seven years he was president and chairman of the board of the New York Board of Trade.

The third National Chemical exposition to be held November 15 to 19 at the Coliseum in Chicago will not only stress the importance of the chemical industry in the war effort but will reveal much that is planned for the postwar era, according to its sponsor, Chicago section of the American Chemical Society.

Exhibit space has been snapped up very fast in spite of the fact that more than twice the area was used by preceding expositions was made available. Industrial motion pictures will be shown.

An 150-page illustrated book designed to assist canners in applying protective coatings to containers packed for export to the armed forces has been prepared by the American Can Company's research division and is now available for distribution through the Quartermaster's depot at Chicago.

## WANT AD

NAILING MACHINES WANTED. We want used Morgan or Doig wood box Nailing Machines at once. State make, size, best cash price.

CHAS. N. BRAUN MACHINERY CO. Fort Wayne, Indiana